Home › Reviews › SMI800W 800W WiFi Grid-Tie Microinverter

SMI800W 800W WiFi Grid-Tie Microinverter Review (2026)

How we assessed this: we have not had physical access to this unit. The specifications here are read from the retailer listing (we have not found a manufacturer datasheet) on the date shown. The owner’s figures below are the reader’s own and are labelled as such. None of this is a test result. If we ever test something ourselves, we will say so plainly on the page.

Reader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our link, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The SMI800W is a low-cost 800 W WiFi microinverter for buyers who already know how to match panels to an inverter. Because no US certification is stated on its listing, it is not where we would send a first-time buyer — see plug-in solar with UL listings first. It does exactly what a balcony-solar brain should: convert your panel's power to household AC, feed it through a normal outlet, and show you live production in a clean WiFi app.

Output & monitoring

Rated 800W with 96% peak efficiency (listing) and pure sine output. The WiFi app shows real-time and historical production so you can tune your panel angle for more.

Who it's for

Buyers who already have (or will choose) their own panels and want an app-connected inverter.

Verdict

A low-cost WiFi microinverter whose listing gives input figures, but with no US certification stated and no manufacturer datasheet we could find. If you would rather buy everything in one box, see complete kits.

Specifications

SMI800W specifications from the Amazon listing
Rated output800 W, 120 V AC
DC input range16–60 V
Start-up voltage22 V
MPPT range22–55 V
Max input current“14A*2” (as written; not stated whether per input or total)
Max input short-circuit current“20A*2” (as written)
Peak efficiency96%
EnclosureIP67
Operating temperaturethe listing gives two ranges (−20 to 60 °C and −40 to 65 °C)
Standards namedEN 50549-1/-2, EN 61000-6-1/-3, IEC/EN 62109-1/-2
US certification (UL/ETL/CSA)not stated
Manufacturer datasheetnot found

Source: Amazon listing, seller Aiwewin, checked 28 October 2026.

Certification: no US certification (UL, ETL or CSA) stated on the listing (checked 28 October 2026). The listing names European and IEC standards without naming a test lab or certificate. What this means →

What one owner reported

A reader (credited at their request as “Happy Reader”) runs four 200 W bifacial N-type TOPCon panels (Callsun) on a ground mount tilted about 29°, facing south-east, with tree shade from about 4 p.m. We have not independently verified any of these figures.

  • 16 August 2026, two panels in parallel on each input (2P+2P): the unit “usually outputs only 600W-ish” (AC output).
  • 17 August 2026, two panels in series on each input (2S+2S), about 2:23 p.m. local time at 102 °F: “45v @ 13.6amps”, and 738 W a little earlier (DC input from the panels).
  • Reported 7 October 2026, 2S+2S, on a “very clear” day with white-painted boards under the bifacial panels: 889 W (DC input — “All figures I send are generated watts, not converted watts”). The AC output at that moment was not reported.
  • 15 October 2026: “Barely 30w to 60w due to heavy clouds and rain” (the reader did not say whether this was input or output).
Series wiring warning: Two of these panels in series give about 54.6 V open-circuit at 25 °C. With Callsun’s −0.25 %/°C coefficient that reaches 60 V at about −14 °C (6 °F) on a cold, clear morning. The 60 V figure is the top of the 16–60 V input range stated on the Amazon listing (checked 28 October 2026) and shown on the unit’s own display; we have not found it in a manufacturer datasheet. Do not wire panels in series to this inverter until the maker confirms its maximum DC input voltage.

Pros & cons

Data table
ProsCons
WiFi app & live dataPanels sold separately
96% peak efficiency (listing)800W cap on one unit
Pure sine output (listing)Generic brand
Check price on Amazon

$199.00 on Amazon (ASIN B0GKFD9Y3D, sold by Aiwewin, ships from Amazon), read 28 October 2026.

→ Estimate your savings with this gear

Related reviews: Y&H 600W microinverter · Y&H 1200W microinverter · all reviews.